As we were reading

Last night my wife and I were reading the Bible together.  We decided to read out of Galatians (some might say that God directed us there but either way that’s where we ended up).  As I was reading I got to verse 10 of chapter 1 it reads:

 “Am I now trying to win human approval, or God’s approval? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

It made me pause and I couldn’t just continue reading as if I hadn’t been impacted by what the Scripture said.  “If I were still trying to please people I would not be a servant of Christ”, if I was worried about making people happy or feel good or tip toe around the truth I would not be a servant of Christ.  There is no human being that is more important that Jesus and no person that has done for me what Jesus did so why should it matter if other people don’t feel “pleased” by what I say if it is the truth.  Yes of course you speak the truth in love but you still speak the truth and the truth is not always pleasing.

Both Lisa and myself gave the church grunt to let it be known to one another that the verse was resonating with us. 

Paul then goes on in the rest of the chapter and into the next to remind the people in the Galatian church where he came from and how his spiritual journey was not “typical” at all.  When his life was radically changed by Christ he did not seek counsel from anyone, he just obeyed what the Lord told him to do immediately.  Obeying Christ was all that mattered and all that matters. 

Then he began to tell them the account of when he called out Peter to his face about his hypocrisy.  It didn’t matter that it was another follower of Christ, it was someone who was in the wrong, knew they were in the wrong, and were being others down with him.  Paul was not about to let his happen because he was not worried about pleasing Peter, he knew that it was his responsiblity out of love for the Lord and for his fellow worker to call his sin out to him.

Paul finishes up the 2nd chapter reminding Peter that it is not by the Law that people are justified but only by putting our faith in Jesus Christ.  He then voices the famous verses 20 and 21:

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21 I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”

It is all about Jesus; His virgin birth, His life, His death and His resurrection.  There is no limit to His grace or to His forgiveness, He does not have favorites.  I know that I spend more time than I should worrying about others opinions and being a “people pleaser”, I know that rudeness is not what the Bible is calling Christians to but I need to be so overwhelmed by who God is and what He has done and is doing for me and in me that pleasing Him comes naturally overflowing out. 

Matthew 6:33a “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God…”

One thought on “As we were reading

  1. nice…you are not alone in this…obviously…as with most things in life this is a one of those things where we need balance you cant go around pleasing people…and you cant go around doing the opposite…it is strong teaching though and def relevant to our present…

Leave a Reply

