Turn. Repent. Live!

Lisa and I have been married for a little over 5 months now and it is absolutely amazing.  I knew going into marriage that we would not have the lifestyle my parents have or her parents have but I did think that I would be able to keep the things that I gotten used to as a single/engaged guy; my gym membership, my nice phone etc.  And initially I did, but what I had not really understood what it meant to actually have two lives merge into one.  I knew we would have to share burdens and responsibilities but I didn’t realize that was going to mean for us.  We both have had to adjust our priorities, getting rid of things, canceling memberships, go with the off brand food rather than the name brand food (you get what I am saying).  It was/is not the easiest transition to make but we both know in our hearts that it is the wise thing to do and what will allow us to get the place we want to be the quickest. 

I was reading today in Ezekiel when the Lord was speaking though him to the Israelites and he was explaining how every person will be judged according to his own actions, and how the sins of the father do not affect the son and the sins of the son do not affect the father and how if a person follows after the Lord and obeys Him he will not die, even if he was not living righteously but repented and turned to the Lord he would not die.  What stuck out to me was this.  Our God is a God of life.  He does not demand perfection from the start He knows it may take some of us a while to realize how much we don’t know and get on the right track.  Chapter 18 vs. 31&32 say “Rid yourselves of all the offenses you have committed, and get a new heart and a new spirit. Why will you die, people of Israel?  For I take no pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Sovereign LORD. Repent and live!

Sometimes in our lives we have moments of realization that redirect us to a path or lifestyle of joy and hope and life.  Whether they are sin issues or simply perspective issues God always is there beckoning us to turn, repent and live.  Live the life He designed us to live.  Turn. Repent. Live!

Leave a Reply

