Bucket List

I recently saw a very moving commercial. An older man was doing these bazar things like dying his hair blue, and partying all night. Towards the end, we see the man checking things off a bucket list. In case you don’t know what a bucket list is (hard to believe but it’s possible) a bucket list is a list of things you want to do before you die. Or as it is also termed, kick the bucket.

The moving part of the commercial comes when you see a lady walk up to him and place her head on his check to hear his heartbeat. At this point you realize that the lady’s son died and his heart had been given to the older man. She was listening to her son’s heartbeat. (excuse me while I ugly cry…)

As I thought about it later that day, it occurred to me. For those of us who are Jesus followers, the Holy Spirit lives inside of us. The Holy Spirit came after Jesus died, rose, and ascended. We are being transformed from the inside out to be more like Christ.  What I am trying to say is that we have the heart of Jesus in us. So shouldn’t we be living out Jesus’ bucket list?

I know that Jesus is alive, but when he went up to Heaven he reminded us of His “bucket list”. It’s called The Great Commission. This is not revolutionary, and it may not resonate with you like it did me. But the concept that Jesus placed everything we need inside of us to do exactly what He wants to see accomplished hit me right between the eyes. Do my actions draw people towards Christ or away (because neutral is not an option)? When people are close enough to hear my heart beating, do they know what it beats for?

This commercial reminded me of the power one life can have on another. As Christians we have the same power that raised Jesus from the dead INSIDE OF US! (Romans 8:11 Emphasis added) We cannot forget the heart of Jesus and what we are supposed to do with it.

Leave a Reply

